Collaboration of Business Leaders and Elected Officials

The Victoria Economic Development Corporation is led by a Board of Directors whose members represent the expertise and knowledge found in the Victoria region.


Nancy Garner, Chairman
In addition to being a licensed real estate broker since 1987 and a licensed salesperson since 1983, Nancy is also an accountant. She purchased the Woolson Real Estate Company in 1995 after managing the firm since 1982 and serves them as President and Broker.

Don Whitaker, Vice Chairman
Chief Financial Officer of Keating Auto Group, Don is a graduate of Texas A&M University with a degree in finance. Before joining the KAG, he served as a consultant who assisted Houston in their bid for a National Football League team franchise known as the Texans.

Bobby Jacob, Secretary
Retired, former Senior Vice President of Frost Insurance, specializing in commercial and business insurance for the last 25 years. Currently serving on the Advisory Board for Frost Bank - Victoria. Previously in bank commercial lending for 20 years. Degreed in Finance from Texas A&M.  Prior Board Chairman of VEDC in 2000 and 2001.

Jon New, Treasurer
As President and Owner of New Distributing Company, Inc., Jon leads the successful three-generation family business of fuel and lubricant distribution that was established in 1959.

Thomas A. Schmidt, Immediate Past Chairman
President and Senior Engineer of Urban Engineering. Tom is a graduate of Texas A&M University with a Master of Engineering degree in Transportation Engineering and Pavement Design and a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering.

Board of Directors

Jeff Bauknight, Mayor, City of Victoria
William R. Blanchard, Board President, Victoria Sales Tax Development
Tommy Beyer, Chief Executive Officer, PAM Rehabilitation Hospital
Gary Broz, City Manager, City of Edna
John Clegg, Vice President & Sales Manager, Clegg Industries, Inc.
Jesús A. Garza, City Manager, City of Victoria
Chance Glenn, Provost & Vice President, University of Houston - Victoria
Diego Gonzalez, Supply Network Facility Manager, Caterpillar Inc.
Jennifer Kent, President, Victoria College

Bernard Leger, Chief Executive Officer, DeTar Healthcare System
Royce Moran, Regional President, Prosperity Bank
Mike Olson, Chief Executive Officer, Citizens Medical Center
Vee Strauss, Manager, External Affairs, American Electric Power
Sean Stibich, Executive Director, Port of Victoria
Tommy Taylor, General Manager, Atzenhoffer
Blaine Warzecha, General Manager, Victoria Electric Cooperative
Hon. Ben Zeller, County Judge, Victoria County